Never Again! The Ultimate Beauty Duds – Part 2

Superdrug Simply Pure TonerHi there! It’s been a while since Part 1 of The Ultimate Beauty Duds, but since I’ve encountered more than just a few products that didn’t do anything for me, I thought I should do another Top 10 of binworthy products.

Fortunately the majority of the products I buy turn out to be decent, so I don’t have much reason to complain. But let me tell you about the stuff I hate(d) anyway. 🙂

10 Superdrug Simply Pure Refreshing Toner For Sensitive Skin

I think this toner is just awful. It didn’t feel effective, it wasn’t effective, and it gave my face an unpleasant tingling sensation. As someone who had to deal with persistent angioedemas in the past, I take stinging and tingling sensations on my face seriously.

OK, my skin didn’t break out, but I wouldn’t let this toner anywhere near my face again. I’m currently using this toner to clean my nail art jelly stampers. 🙂

9 MUA Matte Lipstick Wild Berry
MUA Matte Lipstick Wild Berry
Another awful matte lipstick from MUA. This lipstick feels waxy, sticky and drying. And it’s a a nightmare to apply because of the thick and waxy texture. On top of that, the colour doesn’t transfer well onto lips. Rubbish.

8 Rimmel Colour Rush Trio Eye Shadow 760 Elements
Rimmel 760 Elements
This eyeshadow compact disappointing me big time because the eyeshadows are incredibly poorly pigmented. I usually find Rimmel products excellent, but this compact is a joke. The swatch says it all. And yes, the almost unrecognisable thing on the right side in the photo above is a swatch.

7 Boots Naked Colour Shampoo & Conditioner

These two hair products are two of the worst I’ve ever tried. They used to be my least favourite hair products ever until I found hair care stuff that was actually worse (keep reading). However, this Naked combo is terrible anyway. The shampoo doesn’t lather up properly (it’s SLS-free), and the conditioner doesn’t condition at all. I think it anti-conditions and it made me lose about five times as much hair as I’d normally lose in the shower. Complete rubbish.

6 Naturtint Shampoo & Naturtint Nutrideep Multiplier Protective Cream
Naturtint Minis
Naturtint… oh dear! The shampoo was tolerable, but that ‘protective cream’ was the worst thing that ever happened to my hair in all my life. Honestly, the ‘protective cream’ scared me big time. I thought it ruined my hair. Fortunately I could restore my hair to its pre-Naturtint state – with the help of L’Oréal!

5 Positively Fruity Body Lotions – Smells Like Sunny Strawberries, Smells Like Wild Cherries & Smells Like Tropical Showers
Positively Fruity Body Lotions
These body lotions were a total letdown. The tubes looked really cute, and the fragrances sounded nice. But these lotions were extemely poorly fragranced. Seriously, I could hardly smell anything at all. 😦

4 Accessorize Paradise Eyeshadow Palette
Accessorize Paradise 01
I think the Paradise palette is extremely pretty. But of 32 eyeshadows, 16 are so poorly pigmented that they’re essentially useless. Check out my original post which includes swatches of all 32 eyeshadows – you’ll be disappoited, no doubt.

3 Garnier Ultimate Blends The Silky Smoother Shampoo & Conditioner
Garnier Vanilla
Whilst these two hair care products smell absolutely delicious, there was nothing else that I liked about them. The shampoo turned my hair into a knotty and unflexible mess which the conditioner couldn’t take care of. Double-conditioning, sometimes even triple-conditioning, was a daily must… I think I finished the big 400ml conditioner in around ten days. Shocking, I know! By the way, these two products seem to disappear from the supermarket and drugstore shelves. So I guess I’m not the only one who was underwhelmed by these products.

2 NYC Skin Matching Foundation 685 Fair &
1 Pacifica Indian Coconut Nectar Body Butter
nyc-pacifica
Now where do I start with these two? NYC’s foundation doesn’t blend. At all. Any attempt to blend it into your skin will cause the product to flake. I tried different moisturisers and different beauty tools, but this foundation was impossible to work with. No surprise it’s been discontinued. Pacifica’s body butter was just as disappointing – mainly because the product smells like a wet gym towel. I have yet to find a bottom shelf moisturiser that I’d rate lower than Pacifica’s Indian Coconut body butter.

So, this was the second edition of The Ultimate Beauty Duds. The Top 10 weren’t in any particular order because I disliked all these products (more or less) equally.🙂 I’m not saying that no one could ever like any of these products (most of them are probably still around). I found all of them to be awful. But if you do like any of these products, that’s good for you.

Any beauty duds you’d like to tell me about? Feel free to let me know. And thanks for reading!

Mrs Strawberry Blonde

10 thoughts on “Never Again! The Ultimate Beauty Duds – Part 2

  1. Pingback: Weekly Recap 7 – 13 Nov 2016 | Mrs Strawberry Blonde

  2. I know MUA is cheap but meh, I feel like 95% of their products are duds. Kind of like the brand NYC. But when they knock it out of the park, it’s amazing! (like the NYC bronzer in Sunny!)
    I tried Rimmel eye shadows a while back and yes, they’re really poorly pigmented. Same with their blushers. Not a fan. They do amazing lipsticks though – not sure why they can’t get the eye shadows right.
    Good to know about the Pacifica Body Butter! I saw them at Winners (ie TKMaxx) and was tempted…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think there are a few MUA products that are quite good. The matte lipsticks are rubbish, but I think MUA’s eye palettes are really good.

      I really like NYC nail polish. I think I have about 100 polishes from this brand alone. But I have two NYC lipsticks that I don’t like at all…

      Like

Leave a Reply

