Reducing My Oldies Stash – Boots Mediterranean Grape, Avocado & Lemon Body Butter And Bergamot, Orange & Olive Body Butter

Hi there! Not too long ago I told you that I have lots of old products in my stash. You could say some of these products are ancient! 😉 Now I’m not one who would just throw out a product – unless it’s off. So at the moment I’m making an effort to check out which oldies are still perfectly good to use. Today I’m telling you about Boots’ Mediterranean Grape, Avocado & Lemon Body Butter and Boots Mediterranean Bergamot, Orange & Olive Body Butter.
boots mediterranean body butter
The Grape, Avocado & Lemon Body Butter doesn’t smell great. It doesn’t smell funky or off, it’s just that the scent isn’t great. The body butter itself looks and feels perfectly fine, so I’ve decided to use it as a foot butter (yes, that’s another one…). In fact I have used it on my feet for a few times now and it does a great job!

The Bergamot, Orange & Olive Body Butter smells absolutely fine. Actually, I really like the fresh citrus fragrance. And just like the other body butter, this one looks and feels perfectly alright. I have used this body butter a few times already, and it moisturises my skin very well. I will continue to use this one as a body butter.

So whilst these products have been discontinued a while ago, I’m quite impressed that they’re still perfectly good to use. So thank you, world of science, for preservatives in cosmetics and toiletries! And just a quick note: I may have more body butters from Boots’ old Mediterranean range… I know I used to buy toiletries in bulk, so I wouldn’t be surprised to find more tubs and tubes…

Mrs Strawberry Blonde

6 thoughts on “Reducing My Oldies Stash – Boots Mediterranean Grape, Avocado & Lemon Body Butter And Bergamot, Orange & Olive Body Butter

  1. That’s amazing these are still ok. One year, The Body Shop brought back the Soy scent in their body butter for a limited time. It was my absolute favourite of their body butters. So of course I stocked up. I got through maybe 3 jars before they started turning bad… they smelled like rotten fish. It was such a sad moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aren’t preservatives in cosmetics great? I think it was 2014 when I found a part-used Olay night cream I must have bought in 2008 or 2009. Guess what – the cream still looked and smelled excellent. I didn’t use it on my face (I didn’t dare…), but I used it on my feet without problems.

      Sorry to hear about the TBS body butters. Rotten fish… wow!

      When I went through one of my stashes recently I found one body butter that had gone off. Actually, it hadn’t really gone off, and it smelled delicious (it was honey-scented), but it shrunk to a almost solid mass… in the bin it went. But everything else I smelled or looked at was perfectly fine.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Weekly Recap 31 Oct – 6 Nov 2016 | Mrs Strawberry Blonde

  3. Pingback: Empties – December 2016 | Mrs Strawberry Blonde

  4. Pingback: Empties – February 2017 | Mrs Strawberry Blonde

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.