Empties 2016 Summary

Hi there! I was thinking about doing a post about all the products I finished in 2016, but then I decided against it. However, my buddy Stashy did an amazing post about everything she emptied last year. And I loved her post so much that (after a little thinking) I decided to do a post too. So here it is! I only started to do Empties posts in April, but I still finished a lot of products in those 9 months. Take a look (and keep scrolling down)!
empties-2016-1
I counted all the empty containers – and I arrived at 124 emptied products in 9 months. That’s just under 14 empties per month. I think this isn’t bad!

The products I finished the most of are…
1. shower & bath gels (36),
2. body lotions & butters (17), and
3. conditioners (14).
The top 3 aren’t surprising to me at all. 🙂

If you’re wondering why there aren’t any shampoos in my empties… I wash my hair every day, but I use more conditioner than shampoo. So every time I empty a conditioner, the matching shampoo becomes ‘useless’ to me. And I just pass the leftover shampoo on to my husband who uses it up. But let’s move on…
empties-2016-2
I also managed to finish 9 perfumes and body mists which is quite alright, I think. And there are 3 product categories with 7 empties each – face creams, nail polish (Yay!) and random tester-size products (single use products or samples are NOT included in this category because I don’t keep track of those). On top of that I finished 5 face washes & face scrubs and 4 face serums.
empties-2016-3
I was surprised when I realised I managed to use up 3 lip balms, 3 nail polish removers and 3 body scrubs. It often takes me a while to finish products like those because I don’t use nail polish remover or body scrubs on a daily basis, and I tend to lose lip balms… so yes, I’m happy that I managed to finish these products. 🙂
empties-2016-4
There are a few product categories with 2 empties each – hand creams, eye creams, eyeliner pencils and cleansers & toners. And, believe it or not, I emptied 1 foundation. Yes, only 1. A single Max Factor Pan Stik! However, I’ve been using six different Max Factor Pan Stiks (2 shades) for the past six (or so) months, and sooner or later they’ll all be finished. 🙂

What did I learn from this summary? Hoarding toiletries is OK because they get used up. However, hoarding make-up is not OK because nothing gets used up ever!

Any thoughts? Feel free to comment if you want to. And thanks for stopping by!

Mrs Strawberry Blonde

24 thoughts on “Empties 2016 Summary

    • Thank you! And good for you! I do feel guilty because I’ve got dozens of products that I haven’t even looked at in ages. Not great! But I’m trying to get on top of my stash. I just need to stop buying a couple of shower gels, shampoos and conditioners with every weekly shop.

      Like

  1. LOL I love you passing on non-matching shampoos to the husband. I admit I never use matching shampoos and conditioners together – or if I do, it’s a bit of an accident. 😀 Lots of empties – good job!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Looking at all those emptied products I feel like I’ve achieved something big! Yes, I really mean it.

      I like to use matching hair products. But I admit that I’ve been mixing it up in the hair department for the past 4 (or so) weeks. Still, once the odd conditioners are used up, my husband will have to pick up the odd leftover shampoos. I think that’ll never change! At the moment my husband has 3 shampoos in a rota (it’s all my fault), and I’m pretty sure it’ll be 5 by the end of this month… 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yess! I love seeing this! ❤
    I'm constantly amazed how quickly you go through body and hair products!
    I go through shampoos MUCH quicker than conditioners. My SO shaves his head so it's only ME who uses hair products! 😆
    Do you apply body moisturizers twice a day?
    And I know what you mean… makeup NEVER gets used up! Except for foundations and mascaras… 😳

    Liked by 2 people

    • Stashy, my muse! 🙂

      Yes, I moisturise my skin after (almost) every shower – that’s mornings and evenings. I skip the moisturiser once every two weeks because sometimes I just can’t be bothered. But generally… I moisturise like a maniac. It’s an addiction. I can’t stop!

      Like

  3. Great post! I always talk myself out of buying more toiletry items because I feel like I’m hoarding and will never use them, but honestly it’s so much quicker and easier to make your way through your toiletry stash than it is through the makeup I hoard! LOL 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Weekly Recap 16 – 22 Jan 2017 | Mrs Strawberry Blonde

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.