100% Vegan & Cruelty-Free – Superdrug Clearly Youthful Hydrating Day Serum

Hi there! Today’s post is about Superdrug’s Clearly Youthful Hydrating Day Serum. I’ve used this serum on and off for about six weeks now, and I’ve reached my verdict. 🙂

But before we get to the review, let me tell you what this serum is supposed to do. First of all, this serum is aimed at women who want to tackle skin ageing and skin impurities at the same time. This serum contains spot-fighting salicylic acid, anti-shine cimicifuga, and lactic acid, phytoprotein and polyglycan – three ingredients which are said to have anti-ageing properties.
Superdrug Clearly Youthful Day Serum
So how does it work? This serum is supposed to be applied twice daily – morning and night. I found this instruction a bit odd because this is a day serum, and there is a separate night serum in the Clearly Youthful range. But if this is what Superdrug recommends…

OK, so I started to use this product daily under my moisturiser. And I noticed quickly that it caused some of my moisturisers to ball up. So I played around with all the face creams and lotions I’m currently using. And I found that this serum works with Olay’s Regenerist UV Lotion and Olay’s Complete Day Lotion. However, no matter which moisturiser I use, this serum always causes my foundation to ball up. Every time. 😦

Then I started to use this serum on my make-up free days (= my two homeworking days and stay-at-home Saturdays or Sundays) and generally at night time. Whilst I haven’t seen any improvement in the appearance of my fine lines, my skin looks a lot clearer. Whilst I think Superdrug’s Glycolic Peel-Off Mask deserves most of the credit for this, I’ve noticed that the serum definitely contributed to my skin clearing up (chin, nose) – especially now that I’m using the glycolic peel-off mask once per week only.

There are two more things I’d like to mention. 1. This serum doesn’t smell great. It has a chemical smell. But it’s nowhere near as smelly (or as intense) as its sister product, Superdrug’s Clearly Youthful Cream Cleanser. 2. When I use this serum after I’ve used a face scrub, I can feel a stingling (= stinging and tingling) sensation on my face. It goes away quickly, but (if I remember) I try not to use the serum after I’ve given my face a scrub.

All in all, I would recommend Superdrug’s Clearly Youthful Hydrating Day Serum if you’re looking for a product that helps fight skin impurities. I’ll definitely buy this serum again – even though I have to limit myself to using it on make-up free days only.

In case you’re wondering, I bought the serum when it was half price (£2.39) about two months ago. But even at full price, the 50ml serum is £4.89 only, so it’s very affordable!

I’ve also just started to use the matching night serum. Of course I bought that one too. 🙂 I’ll let you know what the night serum’s like in a few weeks. In the meantime, feel free to let me know what you think of Superdrug’s Clearly Youthful products. Have you tried any of them? Or would you like to try them? And thanks for reading!

Mrs Strawberry Blonde

20 thoughts on “100% Vegan & Cruelty-Free – Superdrug Clearly Youthful Hydrating Day Serum

  1. Oh I’ve had issues with serums / moisturizers that ball up my foundation. Sucks! And you don’t know until you start using it. On paper, this sounds like a great serum – too bad about how it interacts with your other skincare… and the stink. I’d probably just toss if myself, if it’s only £2.39… 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • If I had been able to smell the product in store, I wouldn’t have bought it. No question.

      But now that I know that it really helps clear up my skin, I actually want to continue ro use it because the benefits really do outweigh the negatives. Sure, I will continue to try other stuff, but in the meantime this stinky serum stays with me.

      Like

    • Thanks, hunni!
      I know the serum has its flaws, but the benefits outweigh the negatives. I used to get these little bumps under my skin. Those bumps that took several months to even become pimples. I think I used to have at least five of them at any given time. And once one turned into a pimple, another bump was growing somewhere else. (I guess it’s a dry skin thing.)

      And now, for the first time in years I have NONE of these ‘pimples in training’ anywhere on my face. Over the past three months I’ve used several new products which target skin impurities, but since I always introduce one product at a time, I can actually pinpoint which of these products are good and which aren’t.

      Anyhoo, now my face looks so much better than three months ago. And I’m so happy! No more pimples, and I got rid of the brown, yellow, olive and red patches too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: August Beauty Awards | Mrs Strawberry Blonde

  3. Pingback: 100% Vegan & Cruelty-Free – Superdrug Clearly Youthful Resurfacing Night Serum | Mrs Strawberry Blonde

  4. Pingback: 100% Vegan & Cruelty-Free – Superdrug Clearly Youthful Triple Action Cleanser, Mask & Scrub | Mrs Strawberry Blonde

  5. Pingback: 100% Vegan & Cruelty-Free – Superdrug Clearly Youthful SPF15 Skin Balancing Moisturiser | Mrs Strawberry Blonde

  6. Pingback: Empties – December 2016 | Mrs Strawberry Blonde

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.